Chronic malnutrition (prevention)

Small Quantity - Lipid-based Nutrient Supplement (SQ-LNS or LNS-SQ)

20 g individual sachet

  • Promotes healthy child growth, motor and cognitive development 
  • Prevents stunting 
  • Prevents wasting, anemia and iron deficiency  

For children from 6 to 24 months

1 sachet / day / child

→ This product is suitable for home fortification programs
 

 

Quotation request

Enov'Nutributter®+ is a Small Quantity Lipid-based Nutrient Supplement (SQ-LNS)

 

The Lancet recommends, worldwide, supplementation with SQ-LNS to reduce child undernutrition.
Read the article

The SQ-LNS has joined the list of world-renowned nutritional interventions to improve maternal and child nutrition. In addition to their effect on reducing mortality, a significant impact has been demonstrated in children on reducing the incidence of stunting, wasting, and underweight. 

Nutritional studies are converging today to emphasize that the first 1000 days of human existence, between conception and two years of the child, are decisive in terms of development. Any deficiency during this period can have irreversible long-term effects.

Enov'Nutributter®+ was designed in collaboration with the iLiNS research teams in Ghana, Malawi and Burkina Faso to prevent nutritional deficiencies in children whose diets would be sufficient in energy but with low nutritional density to promote healthy growth.

Enov'Nutributter®+ is intended to strengthen the complementary diet of young children aged 6 to 24 months at home.

Ideally, infants should be breastfed exclusively until the age of 6 months. Beyond that, breast milk no longer provides all the energy and nutrients the child needs for growth. Quality supplemental food becomes essential to compensate for this deficit, but it is sometimes unavailable or inaccessible in many developing countries.

The Enov'Nutributter®+ product compensates for deficiencies in the supplemental diet. It provides all the micronutrients (minerals and vitamins) as well as essential fatty acids necessary for children's growth.


Enov'Nutributter®+ is not a substitute for a varied and nutritious diet, nor breastfeeding.

Immediate breastfeeding after birth, exclusive during the first 6 months and recommended for at least 24 months.

 

Please contact us for more information about Enov'Nutributter®+

The multiple efficacy studies on Enov'Nutributter®+ have shown that, given with complementary foods, this product is an effective solution to prevent stunting, wasting*, iron deficiency and anemia, impaired development and infant mortality for populations that need it most.

 

Studies on acceptability

The SQ-LNS Enov'Nutributter® product has been well accepted by children in several geographic regions, as shown by studies in Ghana, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Bangladesh and Guatemala.

Acceptability of lipid-based nutrient supplements (LNS) among Ghanaian infants and pregnant or lactating women (Adu-Afarwuah S. et al., 2011)

Acceptability of zinc-fortified, lipid-based nutrient supplements (LNS) prepared for young children in Burkina Faso (Hess SY et al., 2011)

Malawian Mothers Consider Lipid-Based Nutrient Supplements Acceptable for Children throughout a 1-Year Intervention, but Deviation from User Recommendations Is Common (Ashorn U. et al., 2015)

Acceptability of lipid-based nutrient supplements and micronutrient powders among pregnant and lactating women and infants and young children in Bangladesh and their perceptions about malnutrition and nutrient supplements (Mridha M.K. et al., 2012)

Acceptability of a Lipid-Based Nutrient Supplement among Guatemalan Infants and Young Children (Matias S.L. et al., 2011)

 

Efficiency studies

Cochrane review of 17 studies involving 23,200 children aged 6 to 24 months in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs) in Asia and Africa, assessing the effects and safety of preventive LNS combined with complementary foods on health, nutrition and developmental outcomes suggests that:

  • SQ-LNS combined with complementary feeding, compared to a lack of intervention, is effective at improving growth outcomes: prevention of moderate and severe stunting, wasting and underweight, and anemia, without causing adverse effects, and that the product is more effective if provided over a longer duration of time (12 months).
  • There is also evidence to suggest that the SQ-LNS product combined with a complementary feeding is more effective than Fortified Blended Flour (FBF) and MNP at improving growth outcomes.

Most of the studies included products developed and manufactured by Nutriset.

Preventive lipid-based nutrient supplements given with complementary foods to infants and young children 6 to 23 months of age for health, nutrition, and developmental outcomes (Das JK et al., 2019) 

 

meta-analysis of 18 studies in 11 countries, including 41,280 children, found that the provision of a small and medium quantity of LNS for the prevention of malnutrition is likely associated with a 27% reduction in the risk of all-cause mortality among children aged 6 to 24 months.

Of the 18 studies specifically focusing on mortality, 17 were conducted with products developed and manufactured by Nutriset, mainly Enov'Nutributter®+.

The trials were conducted in several countries, in different regions, and their results are therefore probably widely available in many LMIC contexts.

Lipid-based nutrient supplements and all-cause mortality in children 6-24 months of age: a meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials (Stewart et al., 2020)

 

Integrating prevention into community management of acute malnutrition

The PROMIS programme asought to overcome key barriers to the effectiveness of CMAM (community-based management of acute malnutrition) by integrating preventive interventions into screening for acute malnutrition, by providing all children with SQ-LNS through a health facility (Burkina Faso) or a community-based delivery platform (Mali) to increase the intake of essential nutrients and prevent undernutrition. In both countries, the PROMIS programme increased acute malnutrition screening coverage by 20 to 40 percentage points, reaching 48% in Burkina Faso and 63% in Mali.

Impact on child acute malnutrition of integrating small-quantity lipid-based nutrient supplements into community-level screening for acute malnutrition: A cluster-randomized controlled trial in Mali (Huybregts L. et al., 2019)

Impact on child acute malnutrition of integrating a preventive nutrition package into facility-based screening for acute malnutrition during well-baby consultation: A cluster-randomized controlled trial in Burkina Faso (Becquey E. et al., 2019)

 

---

*As part of the prevention of peak acute malnutrition during the welding period, Plumpy'Doz is recommended

Malnutrition chronique (prévention)

Petite Quantité - Supplément Nutritionnel à base Lipidique (SQ-LNS ou LNS-SQ)

Sachet individuel de 20 g 

•    Favorise la croissance en bonne santé de l'enfant, son développement moteur et cognitif 
•    Prévient le retard de croissance 
•    Prévient l’émaciation, l’anémie et la carence en fer  

Pour les enfants âgés de 6 à 24 mois

1 sachet / jour / enfant
→ Ce produit est adapté aux programmes de fortification à domicile

 

Demande de cotation

Enov'Nutributter®+ est un Small Quantity Lipid-based Nutrient Supplement (SQ-LNS)


Le Lancet recommande, au niveau mondial, la supplémentation avec des SQ-LNS pour réduire la dénutrition infantile.
Lire l'article

Les SQ-LNS ont rejoint la liste des interventions nutritionnelles reconnues mondialement pour améliorer la nutrition maternelle et infantile. En plus de leur effet sur la réduction de la mortalité, un impact significatif a été démontré chez les enfants sur la réduction de l’incidence du retard de croissance (stunting), de l’émaciation (wasting), et du sous-poids. 

Les études nutritionnelles convergent aujourd’hui pour souligner que les 1000 premiers jours d’une existence humaine, entre la conception et les deux ans de l’enfant, sont décisifs en matière de développement. Toute carence durant cette période peut avoir des effets irréversibles à long terme.

Enov’Nutributter®+ a été conçu en collaboration avec les équipes de recherches du projet iLiNS au Ghana, Malawi et Burkina Faso pour prévenir les carences nutritionnelles des enfants dont le régime alimentaire serait suffisant en énergie mais avec une faible densité nutritionnelle afin de favoriser une croissance en bonne santé.

Enov'Nutributter®+ est destiné à fortifier l’alimentation de complément des jeunes enfants âgés de 6 à 24 mois à domicile. 

Idéalement, les nourrissons doivent être allaités exclusivement au sein jusqu’à l’âge de 6 mois. Au-delà, le lait maternel n’apporte plus toute l’énergie et les nutriments dont l’enfant a besoin pour sa croissance. Une alimentation de complément de qualité devient alors indispensable pour compenser ce déficit, mais elle est parfois indisponible ou inaccessible dans de nombreux pays en développement.

Le produit Enov'Nutributter®+ permet de compenser les carences de l’alimentation de complément. Il apporte l’ensemble des micronutriments (minéraux et vitamines) ainsi que des acides gras essentiels nécessaires à la croissance des enfants.

Enov'Nutributter®+ ne remplace pas une alimentation variée et nutritive, ni l’allaitement maternel. 
Allaitement immédiat après la naissance, exclusif pendant les 6 premiers mois et recommandé au moins jusqu’à 24 mois. 

Merci de nous contacter pour plus d'informations sur Enov'Nutributter®+

Les multiples études sur l’efficacité d’Enov’Nutributter®+ ont montré que ce produit, associé à l’aliment de complément, apporte une solution efficace pour la prévention du retard de croissance, de l’émaciation*, du déficit en fer et de l’anémie, des troubles du développement et de la mortalité infantile pour les populations qui en ont le plus besoin.

 

Etudes sur l'acceptabilité

Le produit SQ-LNS Enov'Nutributter®+ a été bien accepté par les enfants dans plusieurs régions géographiques comme le montrent des études menées au Ghana, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Bangladesh et Guatemala.  

Acceptability of lipid-based nutrient supplements (LNS) among Ghanaian infants and pregnant or lactating women (Adu-Afarwuah S. et coll., 2011)

Acceptability of zinc-fortified, lipid-based nutrient supplements (LNS) prepared for young children in Burkina Faso (Hess SY et coll., 2011)

Malawian Mothers Consider Lipid-Based Nutrient Supplements Acceptable for Children throughout a 1-Year Intervention, but Deviation from User Recommendations Is Common (Ashorn U. et coll., 2015)

Acceptability of lipid-based nutrient supplements and micronutrient powders among pregnant and lactating women and infants and young children in Bangladesh and their perceptions about malnutrition and nutrient supplements (Mridha M.K. et coll., 2012)

Acceptability of a Lipid-Based Nutrient Supplement among Guatemalan Infants and Young Children (Matias S.L. et coll., 2011)

 

Etudes sur l'efficacité

Une revue Cochrane de 17 études incluant 23 200 enfants de 6 à 24 mois dans des pays à revenu faible et intermédiaire (PRFI) en Asie et en Afrique, évaluant les effets et la sécurité d’emploi du LNS préventif associé à des aliments complémentaires sur la santé, la nutrition et des critères d’évaluation du développement suggère que :

  • Le SQ-LNS associé à une alimentation complémentaire, comparativement à une absence d’intervention, améliore efficacement les critères d’évaluation du développement : prévention du retard de croissance modéré et sévère, de l’émaciation et de l’insuffisance pondérale, ainsi que de l’anémie, sans causer d’effets indésirables, et que le produit est plus efficace s’il est fourni plus longtemps (12 mois).
  • Des éléments de preuve suggèrent aussi que le produit SQ-LNS associé à une alimentation complémentaire est plus efficace qu’un mélange de farine enrichi (FBF) et que le produit MNP pour l’amélioration des critères d’évaluation de la croissance

La plupart des études incluaient des produits développés et fabriqués par Nutriset.

Preventive lipid-based nutrient supplements given with complementary foods to infants and young children 6 to 23 months of age for health, nutrition, and developmental outcomes (Das JK et coll., 2019) 

 

Une méta-analyse de 18 études menée dans 11 pays, incluant 41 280 enfants, a révélé qu’un apport en LNS en petite quantité et en quantité moyenne pour la prévention de la malnutrition est probablement associé à une diminution de 27 % du risque de mortalité toutes causes confondues chez les enfants de 6 à 24 mois.

Parmi les 18 études portant spécifiquement sur la mortalité, 17 ont été menées avec des produits développés et fabriqués par Nutriset, principalement Enov’Nutributter®+.

Les essais ont été réalisés dans plusieurs pays, dans différentes régions, et leurs résultats sont donc probablement largement généralisables à de nombreux contextes de PRFI.

Lipid-based nutrient supplements and all-cause mortality in children 6-24 months of age: a meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials (Stewart et coll., 2020)

 

Intégrer la prévention à la prise en charge communautaire de la malnutrition aiguë

Le programme PROMIS visait à lever les principaux obstacles à l’efficacité de la CMAM (prise en charge communautaire de la malnutrition aiguë) en intégrant des interventions de prévention au dépistage de la malnutrition aiguë, en fournissant à tous les enfants des SQ-LNS par le biais d’un établissement de santé (Burkina Faso) ou d’une plate-forme de livraison communautaire (Mali) pour augmenter les apports en nutriments essentiels et prévenir la dénutrition. Dans ces deux pays, le programme PROMIS a augmenté la couverture du dépistage de la malnutrition aiguë de 20 à 40 points de pourcentage, pour atteindre 48 % au Burkina Faso et 63 % au Mali.

Impact on child acute malnutrition of integrating small-quantity lipid-based nutrient supplements into community-level screening for acute malnutrition: A cluster-randomized controlled trial in Mali (Huybregts L. et coll., 2019)

Impact on child acute malnutrition of integrating a preventive nutrition package into facility-based screening for acute malnutrition during well-baby consultation: A cluster-randomized controlled trial in Burkina Faso (Becquey E. et coll., 2019)

 

---

* Dans le cadre de la prévention du pic de malnutrition aigüe pendant la période de soudure, Plumpy’Doz est recommandé